Financial Setbacks

We were so cool… so calm… so sure.  And then WHOOP!  We lost one of the sources for savings that we had planned.

DAGNABBIT!

That isn’t to say we still won’t have savings, but this is a rather substantial chunk out of it.  Enough to make us take pause and see if we can still do this move in the next 14 months.

We need to evaluate the minimum we (as a family of 4 or 5) will need to live on each month, and how many months we need to save for a reasonable safety net till employment can be found.  What is reasonable to for a family our size?

What we figure (UPDATED per counsel from the amazing people on the BE forum)

600 – rent
100 – council tax
50 – water/sewage
150 – electricity/gas
70 – cell phones (2 phones)
50 – internet
15 – TV licence
50 – insurance on our stuff?
30 – charity shop clothing
600 – food (for 4 or 5)
100 – transportation (one bus pass for Hunny, occasional trips for the rest of us)

£1815 per month. still leaves us almost £200 in “misc” money a month if we can clear £2000 a month. 

Things payable up front (and then I guess saving for throughout the year might be the bus pass, and the TV licence – first payment to come out of our savings) PLUS we’ll be buying basic furniture when we arrive (nothing fancy, I assure you!)

Now, with NO debt to pay at all (we’ll be paying all our debt off here before we pondhop, and living frugally.)  At the tax calculator it says that we will need a salary of £31,500 to get by.  No idea if that is reasonable for my Hunny or not… how on earth do we find out?

Any feedback?  Please?

Advertisements
Categories: United Kingdom | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Financial Setbacks

  1. gail

    best to put this comment to British Expats forum, rent may be low for a 3 bed place, food ok if you are prepared to prepare everything yourself and shop wisely like things with short dates and the weekly deals for meat like 3 for 10 pounds etc. One option is to let your OH go first and try and find a job and stay with relatives for a couple of months?

    • Thanks for the comment, Gail! We do prepare everything at home (food allergies)… I can see maybe having takeaway fish-n-chips maybe once a month at most and that would fall into that misc. budget… we are also very frugal in our shopping – here or there! *grin* As for rent, I’ve been looking on some websites and it seems there are a few… we could possibly increase the max to 700£ a month without a problem. Maybe I’ll copy and paste this over at BE to get some more feedback, good suggestion! I think my Hunny will be going ahead of us either way and stay with family while we (the children and I) hope to make some “rounds” to see loved ones before we pondhop. We’ll also have several thousand pounds saved up to help us in things like paying rent up front, getting the best deal on buspasses (paying up front for a year), and purchasing economical furniture (we’re not bringing our stuff)… I hope that will help. If needed, I can work part time as well. 🙂

  2. gail

    I have not lived there for more than 12 years and not sure what your “honey” does for a living but make sure first that he can earn a salary that clears 2000 first, especially as you are planning to be more up North where salaries are lower but then so are the rentals 🙂 otherwise you will have to adjust a bit but an income of 2000 is more than “doable” I have seen you have some good replies on Expat Forum, go with that! Good luck

What would you like to add?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: