Speed Bumps and Detours

*sigh*

Humps

Speed Bumps Ahead!

It seems that whenever we get our momentum back, something ELSE happens.  So, the countdown clock over there –> says 13 months as I type this post.  Is that right?  Well, depends on the day.  Some days we just want to move ASAP, other days we sit puzzled at how we’re ever going to be able to make it happen.

Some days we wonder if we’re supposed to make that happen.

But we don’t want to get discouraged.  So here are some of the quotes my Hunny has discovered and shared on his Facebook page in the past week or so (which tells me his heart is for making this move happen one way or another):

I wondered about the explorers who’d sailed their ships to the end of the world. How terrified they must have been when they risked falling over the edge; how amazed to discover, instead, places they had seen only in their dreams.
~ Jodi Picoult

Because if you’re prepared and you know what it takes, it’s not a risk. You just have to figure out how to get there. There is always a way to get there.
– Mark Cuban

Yes, risk taking is inherently failure-prone. Otherwise, it would be called sure-thing-taking.
~Tim McMahon

Is our moving a “sure thing”?  I don’t know.  Right now honestly I hesitate to say with full conviction “it WILL happen”.  I believe if it’s MEANT to happen, it most certain WILL… but if it’s not, well, then we’ll end up somewhere else (or just stay right where we are, but that is doubtful in any case).  With at least two of our children planning on being in the military (three of them, actually, but one is only 10 years old at this point), we’re not bound to one location to “be near the kids” – they’ll be all over the place!

So, September is looming, we’re going to be applying for passports next month… hopefully all will go well.  We’re applying for mine and my husbands (no worries on his, he’s a Brit!) first, because if I can’t get my British by Descent, there is no pursuing this after all – but we doubt there will be a problem.  Once mine is arrived, we’ll be applying for the rest of the kids.  Then it’s get the house ready to sell time.

I suppose even if we don’t move permanently, it’d be an asset to have “dual” citizenship.  At least our children will have other choices when looking for employment, more choice for where they might want to live.  We’ll have set their stages well.

So in 13 months we won’t be here.  That’s pretty much all I know right now.

And on that ambiguous note, I’ll leave you with one of my favourite quotes ever from Mark Twain:

Twenty years from now

you will be more disappointed by the things

you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.
So throw off the bowlines.

Sail away from the safe harbor.
Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover.

Categories: Moving To UK | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Speed Bumps and Detours

  1. Stephanie

    Hi!

    I am so very glad I found your blog! My boyfriend and I are planning on doing the same thing. He is English and has been in Canada for 8 years. He is dying to go back an wants me to go with him. We are facing a lot of challenges especially from my family. I can get an ancestry visa as my grandfather was English, but not an English passport.

    This blog was a welcome find in the middle of the list if websites advocating moving from the UK to Canada when I was trying to search for “reasons to move to the UK from Canada”!

    • Ya, that’s kind of why I started it. I had the same problem. I wanted to pull my hair out!!! LOL! Hopefully as time moves forward I’ll be able to record more… right now we just feel like we’re in a holding pattern. But we’re back in motion again. Passports are on hold till the Spring when we sell our house and move to a rental, and we’ll be sitting there for a year and then moving to the UK. So… my goal date now is April 2015. We’ll get there!!!

  2. I got my British passport a few years ago also.

What would you like to add?

Blog at WordPress.com.

